My Conservation Careers Interview

Back in December 2013 I as approached my Nick Askew of Conservation Careers website. He asked if I would be willing to share my conservation career story for his growing career information website. Of course, I agreed as I am happy to get my story out there and hope it helps other who are starting out in this field or who think it may be the one for them.

That's me looking pretty snazzy!It was really great to talk about what I have done so far in my short career, how I started out, and to share advice as well as any difficulties I have come across while I have worked to grow as a scientist. I did this with the hope that it can help and inspire budding marine biologists and conservation scientists in the world.

You can read my full interview here → How To Start Out In Marine Biology?

My big piece of advice that I gave and stand by is this:

SAY YES! Say it as much and as often as you can! Say yes to learning new skills, say yes to taking on new opportunities, say yes to meeting new people (in and outside of your field), just say yes when and where you can in relation to what you want to do. Grab every opportunity that comes your way. As you have no idea where they might take you.

I also got to share what I am most proud of so far:

Which was the opportunity to work with and learn from the world leading bio-acoustician Dr. Chrisitine Ebre while I was in Australia being a Marine Mammal Observer on the Behavioural Response of Australian Humpback whales to Seismic Surveys (BRAHSS) project. I truly admire all the work she has done so it was incredible to get to learn from her.

And of course I answered the all important question of my favourite song! I am still loving my selection of “Fade Into You” from Nashville performed by Sam Palladio and Clare Bowen. This version at the Grand Ole Opry is beautiful:

I now share the site interview list with some pretty impressive conservationists including:

As well as some of my amazing peers including:

  • Theo Blossom – Training coordinator at Durrell Conservation Academy
  • Lizzie Bruce – Assistant Warden at the Norfolk Wildlife Trust

I hope you enjoy my interview and that of my peers and leaders. Check out the website for more insightful interviews and also job postings!

Leave a Reply

